top of page

To Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Sorry about dinner,


Man this year MLK Day was a melee and I was out cold after the third round.


I planned this fabulous dinner idea and it was to be a dedication or more of an in memory of themed dinner filled with Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.'s favorite food, soul food. Well I will say it was a soul snatching event!


Round 1

Garden Fresh Greens

I harvested all of my collards, mustards, and turnip greens for the occasion and did my thang with salt pork. Let me tell you these were and are still to die for. Like, OMG, they are the best!

Garden fresh greens are KING of greens and I attribute learning that from my dear grandma Thank you Lord for my grandma! Garden fresh greens DO NOT taste like store bought greens they are 1000 time more tender, even the collard greens cook faster and and melt in your mouth. They actually taste more like the greens... I pray you feel me on this. Its like taking 1000 collards and compressing them into 1 leaf without the salt. AMAZING!


This year I may grow an extra plot of green and raffle them off around the holidays for a local follower!


Anybody out there?


Round 2

Cornbread.

It literally beat my heiny.


That was the result of experimental baking. I was interested in incorporating brown sugar, honey and regular sugar. Call it cake call it bread. I was a lava sponge. The flavor was calling me but the sponge was condemning. We clearly see the lava. That was inexplicable.


Round 3

My my my Mac and Cheese.

So what had happened was. I over milked. Usually I am the miggity miggity mac queen. I was attacked and too weak to defend. I was like Joy sometimes you need a lil mo liquid. Then I convinced myself that I need to add not a lil mo milk but a whole cup mo of milk. Leaving me with over cooked noodles, that in my opinion tasted delicious, but still a milky mad Mac!


Yo mac so milky I could skip breastfeeding!
You mac was so milky i thought it was cereal!
Yo mac was so milky we should call it milk of mac neasia!

No? Ive never been good at running them.


Ok yall thats all I have to say on my MLK Tribute din. Thanks for hanging with my this time around! Remember if you fail its ok, it's what we do after that that matters most! As always Id proofread this thang if I could just get a minute! Mrs. Craney Out!


Ohhh. You want to know how my night ended.

I just ordered Popeyes.... thats a post in itself.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page