top of page

Thanksgiving Madness

Updated: Dec 14, 2020



Thanksgiving 2020 was one to remember.. and I am sure we all agree. So many families were not only separated, but many of America's daughters and sons were left to figure out dinner. I think it happened to be quite unfortunate that it took a pandemic to to open the minds of so many on such an important personal task. I understand that may be harsh because that is a tradition to meet at grandmas or moms for a delicious and memorable meal.

I happened to have been blessed by a conversation with my SIL a looooong time ago. Maybe 12 years ago. She'd mentioned to me that her mother, a professional chef, had taught her to always rely on herself to feed her family, even on the holidays. At the first sound of that I thought, "Wow her mom must be tough."


But, the more I meditated on the facts of the conversation, I was in complete agreeance.


You should become the woman of your home and in my case that meant making sure to handle the cooking. Now, I will add that i've experienced my share of personal family issues that made this a breeze, but I have found there to many benefits in this. Check out my post on Rules of Engagement for more!


Thanksgiving 2020

Fried Turkey

"Blair's" Hickory Honey ham

Dressin'

Mashed Potatoes

Candied Yams

Collard Greens

Mac 'N' Cheese

Potato Salad

Sweet potato Pie

Butterfinger Pie

Chocolate "Brucey" Cake


Not only was this a mouthful to list, it was a mouthful! I must say I thoroughly enjoyed cooking on Thanksgiving I was so happy to spend the time, although it do it every year, with my kids running around and playing. The older they get the more requests I get and the more they love to share the memories of cooking and planning.


This year I was especially grateful for my health, so many families have been affected by COVID and just to be alive and well was a blessing beyond my understanding.


LEAVING WESTERN BELIEFS BEHIND


We decided to really evaluate what Thanksgiving meant to us and also why we celebrate it. majority ruled that celebrations can be and have been attributed to tradition, but we needed a better reason to continue to do this.


Knowing the truth about america's hidden foundation and the blood shed, rape, and sadness behind it, I turn my focus for truth and lightshed in Jesus Christ.


Bigger than the pilgrim and Native issues and stories is my God and to him I give thanks;


Psalms 100:4 NIV

Enter his gates with thanksgiving and his courts with praise; give thanks to him and praise his name.


Psalms 69:30 (NKJV)

I will praise the name of God with a song, And will magnify Him with thanksgiving.


I dedicated my life and everyday theirin to the Jesus Christ. For without him I am nothing, beyond all transgression, trials, and tribulation he is there to rescue me everytime. For that I am grateful and filled with Thanksgiving and so I celebrate!




Comments


bottom of page