top of page

Mrs Craney's Rules of Engagement


Though holiday season is about over, these tips remain forever relevant to humankind! Yes I said and love that word... Now who gon' check me boo?


Now. We still have christmas and some of us will still be going out and enjoying the function.


This list applies to all functions;

parties, get togethers, visitors, backyard bbqs, baby showers, weddings, & EVERYTHING I failed to mention, OK!


In honor of all hosts and hostesses I present to you the ever growing list of;



Mrs Craney's Rules of Engagement


DO NOT SHOW UP HUNGRY

It is never ever ever ever polite to show up to any function ready to eat. For one, the food may not even be done. Two, you never know what is on the cooks mind or what kind of pressure is on their backs to complete the task of cooking for however many people and on top of that; Not showing up hungry allows you to relax and enjoy the experience. Most likely the reason for this is so we can ENJOY EACH OTHERS COMPANY!


Speaking for myself, I have 7 children..even when I had 3, how crazy would it be for me to come to a function with with hungry kids. Not saying I never have, because I am also human and life happens, but to do so purposely, it would actually be thoughtless and quite frankly, RUDE. Then, you have some kids that are picky that want just flats not the drums or just salad and this actually contributes to diminishing certain foods at a higher, and possibly unexpected rate.


DO NOT TAKE FOOD AWAY

Now, I know this may not sit well with folks out there but if you do not bring food to the function and help prepare majority of the food (which would make you more susceptible to taking food away because your busy assisting ) then you need to be last at a togo plate. Periodttttttt. Seriously, you have to assume the cook wants to make sure they get a fair share set aside first. Allow the host a moment to decide if they want to offer food to go and then allow them a moment to announce leftovers available for the taking. If this function was equally funded then yes by all means, if not, relax.


DO NOT RELY ON ANYBODY'S COOKING

This is my NUMBER ONE Holiday Rule! Number one okay! I never ever ever ever ever ever rely on ANYBODY'S, NOT EVEN MY GRANDMAS, nor ever my MOTHER'S cooking. You never know what they have going on. Yes, they probably could throw down, but everyone has their days. You don't want to go expecting to eat an entire sweet potato pie, or counting on eating the turkey leg, or hoping there are not apples in the potato salad. That's why we cook at home. At the end of the day you can always go home and enjoy your personal tastes, style, and cake! Okurr! This way, even regarding the kids, when it's time to make the food you make a nice sampling of everything. A respectable plate, a plate that is showing you tried everything offered. That would just be so gracious of you! There are exceptions like allergies, but other than that they worked hard to pay for the food, buy the food, and cook it! I know we alll can understand this since the pandemic! Holla if you hear me! Trust me the host will notice. I've had so many occasions where the host has approached me and said, "Is that all your eating?" or "Yall should take some home!". I know it may sound pettish but trust me as a host of more than a few occasions you notice these things.

SHINE AS A GUEST

Bring something. Bring a few things. Bring a lot of stuff. Or, show up fed and just ready to enjoy some company.


Do those things and you can enjoy all you want, take all you want, and just wild out. Or, try your best to practice some of my suggested rules of engagement and lighten the load on the host. There will always be people that do just about everything I suggested you don't do but, just one less guest helps people to stay encouraged to continue to host large gatherings. More importantly, to keep inviting you!


Thank you guys for taking to time to rock out with me, Mrs. Craney! As always if i could just get a minute, i would proofread this thang!




7 views0 comments

Σχόλια


bottom of page