top of page

Baby Chronicles: My Birth Story Baby Number 1


I want to start by saying I have absolutely always dreamed of being a mother. Being a Mom has been my reason for being born. Playing house with my little sister we called ourselves "Teen and Teany", named after two of my moms cousins. I can't tell you who I was, but I knooow I was married to Michael Jordan and we had a bunch of kids "upstairs".


I can remember telling my kids from the floor in my closet, "Y'all better be quiet!".

Id never been so sure of who I was more than I was that day. Til this day I still can't tell you what I "Was meant to do". I can't tell you if I was meant to get educated and become a dentist, chef, or blogger, but just about anyone that knows me knows I've always wanted 10 kids.


Why ten?

I was a middle child. I felt like I was left out alot! ALOT! So much so, my sisters, one older one younger, created this electric shock wave move where they would ZAP! me out of their faces whenever they were tired of me. It's always been my joke that all my best friends are lost in the world because they were random people I met being the 3rd wheel for the roller coaster ride. From those childish experiences I decided that 10 is even, there won't be a lost wheel and there will be plenty of choices of amongst them so no one should ever be alone, no one should ever be in need, and we, lord willing, will always have each other.


My First Born

I was 18 years old and very newly wed before I realized I was pregnant. I just felt like Id gotten a fever and and was riding up Spring Mountain toward Decatur Rd in Las Vegas and decided to call my mom and share the news that I wasn't well. She says, "Well I guess your pregnant". She was not happy about this. I was elated to hear she would think I was pregnant so I couldn't hear much of the criticism.


At work, the older women scowled, but there was one girl that id formed a bond with that had a few children and thought it was pretty cool and she brought me a lot of comfort.


As for my man, I don't think he was expecting a baby, but he was and is a God fearing husband so he accepted the blessing and got me some What to Expect When You're Expecting books, those books had me hooked and got me through every step of the way.

I was able to understand what was going on and that made it easy to weed out the negative inputs that I was receiving for being young and pregnant and I had so much to look forward to. I was creating and making a baby.


Today he says he felt nervous. Like his world had ended and a new one had began. Like he'd instantly become a man.

At the time he was 21.


Times Up


So i'm at one of my final Dr. visits and the dr told me it was time to induce because I was reaching 42 weeks. He shared some risks and pretty much scared me into scheduling an induction. So I was to have my baby March 14th, 2008, via induction.


A friend that had at the time maybe 5 kids recommended I didn't accept pitocin because of the risks involved, but opt for another medication that had less risks.


So I'm at the hospital all checked in, I have my overnight bag, my diaper bag,and my birth plan so they don't give me that pitocin nor an epidural. I was pretty much ready.


The doctors and nurses followed every request Id asked for, they let me walk a little and eat ice... although I kept receiving pressure for the epidural when i was in pain. Other than wanting to put me out of my misery, they did well.


So now things are getting real, the pain was becoming unbearable.


I am HOT, then I am COLD.

I don't want to be touched, I need a hug.

Get that damn fan out of my face.

Then, here comes the nurse with the special pain medicine, ( I'll find the name and update this asap!), THANK YOOOOU AMY ( my special friend consultant).

I never knew the feeling, but I had learned about exactly how high the sky was . I was a balloon that was let go years ago, I was so high. The pain became bearable, but my vitals had become shaky, so they put me on oxygen.


So, overnight Im on oxygen and around 6 am, on March 15th, 2008 the Dr. is finally here and says were going to have our baby soon, but he needed to deliver one more baby first. That baby was on the way.


I got prepped and decided I needed an epidural because if the pain was to be as horrific as last night I didnt think id have the strength to make it. This was pretty scary because in my birth plan I told them I did not want an epidural, so there were no forms to sign concerning them. Suddenly, I am signing liability waivers and consent forms and I was shocked to see the effects. This was a personal letdown, because it seemed like such a bad choice, but I just hadn't had enough preparation for the pain I was in. I signed. The scary part was they told my husband no cameras, I was like, "What are they about to do to me where we cant record.", you have to sit on the edge of the table, hunch over, they wipe you with iodine on your lower back, just about 3 inches above your tailbone, then they inject your spine with a needle and it follows with some really cold medicine. Really cold. Then you begin shaking like a salt shaker because of the effects I assume, I got cold, even my teeth were chattering. Shortly, as in a few minutes later, you start to go numb from the waist down. It really is day and night concerning pain. I can admit.


Almost immediately after my epidural, my dr. was right back and said the other mom was not ready, so he began delivering my baby.


A team of nurses came in and maybe a student, I couldn't figure it out. The nurses had me scooch my tooch to the end of the bed, put my feet in stirrups, and then the unspeakable, they put a superstar grade bright light on my vagina. Yup, I was the main attraction. At his point my baby is "crowning",his head was popping out, he was on the way out. The dr. could barely get his gloves on. Everyone was cheering and telling me to breathe, bare down, and push! And literally maybe 6 pushes in, I became a mom.


His Debut

Demarlow was sooo purple. I almost screamed. His arm and fist were at his neck and the umbilical cord was wrapped so tightly around his neck, he could barely breathe. The Dr. had to immediately cut the cord and it snapped off of his neck like a bungee cord overly wound. Praise god he was ok. I still attribute that to being overly active, Demarlow hardly stood a chance with all the flipping, dancing, twerking, and goofing id been doing, but I definitely learned the scary way that just because you can do it doesnt mean you should.



There you have it, y'all! Baby numba 1! Thanks for reading as always forgive the typos, you know I would correct them all, if I could just get a minute!

☮︎Mrs. Craney

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page